Board of Directors

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Christoph M. Schmidt, President

Christoph M. Schmidt has been President of RWI and Professor of Economic Policy and Applied Econometrics at Ruhr University Bochum since 2002. He studied economics at the University of Mannheim, received his his Ph.D. from Princeton University and the degree of Dr. rer. pol. habil. at the University of Munich. He was a member of the German Council of Economic Experts from 2009 to 2020 and its chairman from 2013 to 2020. From 2011 to 2013, he was a member of the Enquete Commission “Wachstum, Wohlstand, Lebensqualität” (Growth, Welfare, Quality of Live) of the German Bundestag. Since 2019 he has been a member and since 2020 co-chair of the Franco-German Council of Economic Experts. Since 2020, he has been Vice-President of acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften. Since 2014 he has been a member and since 2020 Vice-Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation, since 2020 a member of the Expert Panel of the "Excellence Strategy", and since 2021 a member of the Supervisory Board of BMW AG. In 2016, he received the Gustav Stolper Prize of the "Verein für Socialpolitik", and in 2019 he received an honorary doctorate from Leibniz Universität Hannover.



Prof. Dr. Thomas K. Bauer, Vice-President

Thomas Bauer is currently professor of economics at the University of Bochum (Ruhr-Universität Bochum). Since February 2004 he is Member of the Executive Board of RWI, since 2009 he is Vice-President. He studied economics at the University of Munich. In July 1997 he obtained his doctoral degree from the University of Munich. From 1997-1998 Thomas Bauer visited the Rutgers University, USA. In September 1998 he joined IZA as Senior Research Associate and became IZA Program Director in July 1999. From 2011 until 2019 he was member of the Expert Council of German Foundations on Integration and Migration, from September 2016 until July 2019 he was chairman of the Council. Since May 2017 he is chairman of the Statistical Advisory Committee, which is acting as advisory board of the Federal Statistical Office (destatis).



Dr. Stefan Rumpf, Administrative Board Member

Stefan Rumpf studied Business Administration at the University of Trier. From 1998 to 2002 he was doctoral student and Managing Director of the DFG Collaborative Research Centre 522 "Umwelt und Region“ (environment and region) at the University of Trier, where he also completed his dissertation on the topic of “Sustainability in skilled crafts and trades” in 2003. Subsequently he headed an ESF project on company succession in skilled crafts at the Trier Chamber of Crafts. Since January 2005 Stefan Rumpf has been an employee at RWI. Initially he was Managing Director of the Ruhr Graduate School in Economics (RGS Econ). Since December 2010 he is head of the department „Finance and Controlling" at RWI. From 2013 until September 2017 he was RWI’s Managing Director. In October 2017 Stefan Rumpf has become the Chief Administrative Director of RWI.





Dr. Lina Zwick

Head of the Staff to the Board of Directors; Research Coordinator
Tel.: +49 (0201) 8149-266
Fax: +49 (0201) 8149-200

Dr. Gerhard Kussel

Coordinator of the Research Information System
Tel.: +49 (0201) 8149-214
Fax: +49 (0201) 8149-236


Daniela Flörchinger

Assistant to the Board of Directors
Tel.: +49 (0201) 8149-511
Fax: +49 (0201) 8149-236


Marianna Schmaus

Legal adviser to the Board of Directors
Tel.: +49 (0201) 8149-268
Fax: +49 (0201) 8149-200


Wim Kösters

Associated Researcher, former Member of the Board of Directors
Tel.: (0201) 8149-229
Fax: (0201) 8149-236

Helge Braun, PhD

RGS Econ, Managing Director
Tel.: +49 (0201) 8149-512
Fax: +49 (0201) 8149-200



Office of the Board of Directors

Andrea Cassel

Office, Board of Directors
Tel.: +49 (0201) 8149-229
Fax: +49 (0201) 8149-236


Nicole Kodat

Office, Board of Directors
Tel.: +49 (0201) 8149-228
Fax: +49 (0201) 8149-236